

PRESS RELEASE

Background information

International Prize of Peace of Westphalia

Münster/Westphalia, March 3, 2023 Religious peace, tolerance and federalism were the key points of the Peace of Westphalia concluded in Münster and Osnabrück in 1648, which ended the Thirty Years' War. As a symbol of the continued validity of these postulates, the Wirtschaftliche Gesellschaft für Westfalen und Lippe e. V. (WWL) established the International Prize of Peace of Westphalia in 1998, on the 350th anniversary of the peace treaty.

As a representative of numerous medium-sized companies from the region, WWL wants to use the award to illustrate how politics and the economy, peace, stability and prosperity are interrelated and influence each other. The award is also intended to contribute to the discussion on how people can live together in a Europe of the regions.

The highest endowed German peace prize, worth 100,000 euros, is awarded every two years in two equal categories: It is awarded to personalities or representatives of states who have become role models for peace work in Europe and the world. The Youth Prize is awarded to young people or groups of young people who act in an exemplary manner for balance and peace and who are committed to sustainability and the future of their generation.

The winners receive the Peace Prize in the form of a bronze sculpture of the Westphalian horse, designed by Bielefeld artist Nina Koch.

In the past years, awards were presented to:

1998: Václav Havel, former President of the Czech Republic Republic "Gesto por la Paz", Basque youth initiative

2000: Dr. Helmut Kohl, former German Chancellor Ekola-Gymnasium in Breslau and Conrad-von-Soest- grammar school in Soest

2002: Carla Del Ponte, Chief Prosecutor of the War Crimes Tribunal in The Hague "Students Helping Lives", student initiative for children and young people in the Balkans

2004: Professor Kurt Masur, Conductor The carol singers - children help children

2006: Valéry Giscard d[´]Estaing, former French President, The young people at the von Bodelschwinghsche Anstalten Bethel

2008: Kofi Annan, former Secretary-General of the United Nations, Community of Young Maltese

2010: Daniel Barenboim, conductor and pianist, West-Eastern Divan Orchestra

2012: Helmut Schmidt, former German Chancellor, "Children for a better World e. V."

2014: Crews of the International Space Station ISS, German War Graves Commission (Volksbund Deutsche Kriegsgräberfürsorge e. V.) -Youth work

2016: H.M. King Abdullah II ibn Al Hussein, King of Jordan, Action Reconciliation Service for Peace

2018: The Baltic States of Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania, Rings of German Scout and Guide Associations

2020: Alexis Tsipras, former Prime Minister of Greece,and Zoran Zaev, Prime Minister of North Macedonia Plant-for-the-Planet

All further information on the International Peace of Westphalia Prize can be found at www.westfaelischer- friedenspreis.de.